Nether Kellet Primary School
Nether Kellet Primary School

EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage)

In Early Years, we follow the EYFS curriculum and focus on the 7 areas of learning:

  • communication and language.
  • physical development.
  • personal, social and emotional development.
  • literacy.
  • mathematics.
  • understanding the world.
  • expressive arts and design.

We have whole school themes and learning in EYFS is linked with our whole school theme wherever possible while following the principles and practice of the EYFS curriculum. 

Please see our Curriculum Map below.

Learning in the Early Years is accessible both indoors and outside and all children have access to outdoor provision and learning as much as indoor.  In-keeping with this, we have a beautiful outdoor area that is carefully crafted to offer the best possible learning experiences for our children across all 7 areas of the EYFS framework.  Some of our Early Years staff have completed the Step Into Quality Mark and the Step Into Quality Outdoors Mark in which they were highly commended on the excellent outdoor provision and richness of the learning taking place.  Alongside the day to day access to the outdoor area and garden, the children also do a dedicated Forest Schools activity each week where they use the wider school grounds to enhance learning.

Early Years staff closely involve parents and carers of children to work together in their children’s development. 

Parents are invited into the classroom (and outdoor area) on regular occasions.  Early Years staff also invite pre-school children into school after the Easter holidays before they are due to start school on one afternoon per week.